Thornton W. Mitchell Service Award

Established in 2003, the Thornton W. Mitchell Service Award seeks to recognize an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to the archival profession in the state of North Carolina by promoting public awareness, appreciation, or support of cultural heritage institutions, preserving historical and cultural resources, providing leadership in archival organizations or associations, or teaching, training, or mentoring new members of the archival profession.

The award honors the late Thornton W. Mitchell, who served as North Carolina State Archivist from 1973 until his retirement in 1981, and was an active member of the archival profession for forty years. The first Thornton W. Mitchell Service Award was presented at the SNCA spring meeting in March 2004. The recipient of the Thornton W. Mitchell Service Award will be determined by the Society’s Development Committee and announced at the Society’s Fall meeting in conjunction with the Gene J. Williams Award.

Nominees must have at least 5 years of service to the profession, and may not be members of the current SNCA Executive Board or Development Committee. Nominations should include specific examples of ways in which the nominee meets the criteria outlined above.

The deadline to apply for this award is February 15, 2019.

The completed Thornton Mitchell Nomination Form (PDF) should be emailed to:

Karen Feeney
Development Committee Chair

Thornton W. Mitchell Award Recipients:

Aaron Smithers, Southern Folklife Collection Assistant, UNC Chapel Hill Libraries

Jan Blodgett, University Archivist, Davidson College

Pam Mitchem, Coordinator of Digital Scholarship and Initiatives, Appalachian State University

George Frizzell, University Archivist, Western Carolina University

Linda Sellars, Head of Technical Services for Special Collections, North Carolina State University Libraries

Dr. Harry C. Keiner, retired University Archivist, Appalachian State University

Dr. John David Smith, Charles H. Stone Distinguished Professor of American History, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

George Stevenson, North Carolina State Archives

Steven Hensen, Duke University Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Special Collections Library

Jesse R. “Dick” Lankford, North Carolina State Archives

Suellyn Lathrop, East Carolina University

2004 (Inaugural)
Catherine J. Morris, North Carolina State Archives